Anna Stefanopoulou

Professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, College of Engineering
(734) 615-8461

Anna G. Stefanopoulou is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan and the Director of the Automotive Research Center (ARC), a U.S. Army Center of Excellence in Modeling and Simulation of Ground Vehicles. Her current work addresses estimation and control of internal combustion engines and electrochemical processes such as fuel cells and batteries.

She obtained her Diploma (1991, Nat. Tech. Univ. of Athens, Greece) in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering and her Ph.D. (1996, University of Michigan) in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. She was an assistant professor (1998-2000) at the University of California, Santa Barbara, a technical specialist (1996-1997) at Ford Motor Company and a visiting professor (2006) at ETH, ZurichShe is an ASME Fellow (08), an IEEE Fellow (09), the Chair of the ASME DSCD Energy Systems Technical Committee since 2010 and a member of the SAE Dynamic System Modeling Standards Committee. She is a member of the committee for advising the National Academies and NHTSA for the next Fuel Economy Standards of Light Duty Vehicles.

She was an elected member of the IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS) Board of Governors, an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Control System Technology, an Associate Editor on the ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems Measurements and Control, Chair (2001-1999) and Co-Chair (1999-1997) of the Transportation Panel in American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) in the Dynamics, Systems, and Control Division (DCSD). She is a member of the IEEE Control Systems Society Technology Award selection committee (since 2005), and was a member of  the ASME Dynamic Systems and Control division Honors and Awards committee (2007-2010), the American Automatic Control Council (AACC) Ragazzini Educational Award committee (2007), and the American Control Conference selection committee for best student paper award (2004).

She is a recipient of the 2012 College of Engineering Research Award, the 2009 ASME Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award, a 2008 Univ. of Michigan Faculty Recognition award, the 2005 Outstanding Young Investigator by the ASME DSC division, a 2005 Henry Russel award, a 2002 Ralph Teetor SAE educational award, a 1997 NSF CAREER award and selected as one of the 2002 world’s most promising innovators from the MIT Technology Review. She has a book on Control of Fuel Cell Power Systems, nine US patents, 4 best paper awards and 150 publications