Grant deadline: Michigan Memorial Phoenix Project

Monday, January 27, 2014

Reminder: The deadline for Michigan Memorial Phoenix Project Seed Grant application is January 31

The University of Michigan Regents resolved in 1948 that: “…the University of Michigan create a War Memorial Center to explore the ways and means by which the potentialities of atomic energy may become a beneficent influence in the life of man, to be known as the Phoenix Project of the University of Michigan.” To this end, the Advisory Board of the Michigan Memorial Phoenix Project administers a seed-funding program for research groups developing proposals for external support.

Get the MMPEI Seed funding application cover page here.

MMPP seed funding guidelines are as follows:

Topics must conform to the mission of MMPP; non-nuclear/ atomic related proposals will not be accepted or reviewed, (e.g., wind energy). A list of funded projects from 2013 follows this solicitation.
Award size: maximum of $25 k per grant. It is expected that 3 grants (or $75k–equivalent) will be granted per year
Period of performance: up to one year
Eligibility: faculty, research faculty, emeritus faculty with student involvement; MMPP PI must verify eligibility to serve as PI for the proposed funding agency of major project
Allowable support: student or postdoctoral salary, travel for research, research equipment and supplies
Disallowed expenses: Tuition, faculty salary
Deadlines: proposals due by January 31, 2014
Funding decisions announced on or before April 1, 2014
Proposal length is limited to 3 pages; 2-page CVs for each principal investigator (NSF, DoE, NIH or similar format; not counted in 3-page limit)
A progress report (2 pages or less) is required at conclusion of the project

Proposals will be evaluated by the MMPP Advisory Board:

-Ronald Gilgenbach (Chair), Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Department,
- Mark Barteau, Director of the Michigan Energy Institute and Professor, Chemical Engineering Department
-Fred Becchetti, Professor, Physics Department
-Yuni Dewaraja, Research Associate Professor, Radiology Department
- Allan Stam, Professor of Political Science and Director of the International Policy Center in the Ford School of Public Policy.
-Greg Moses, Professor of Engineering Physics, University of Wisconsin
-Sara Pozzi, Associate Professor, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Department
–Gary Was, Professor, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Department

MMPP Seed Grant Awards for 2013

1) Peter J.H. Scott, Research Assistant Professor, Radiology Department, “Nociceptin Receptor Occupancy Studies in Rhesis Monkeys using Positron Emission Tomography Imaging”,
2) Yugo Ashida, Assistant Research Scientist, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Department, “Development of Strain Rate Acceleration Technique for Quantitative Prediction if Irradiation Assisted Stress Corrosion Crack Growth”,
3) Jason Siegel, Assistant Research Scientist, Mechanical Engineering Department, “Charge Storage Mechanism for Early Transition Metal Nitrides: Using Neutrons to Measure Hydrogen Content”, and
4) Shaun Clarke, Assistant Research Scientist, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Department, “Active Interrogation Using Laser based Monochromatic X-Rays”,

Referenced Faculty: